Three referee system for WLA this season

WLA Moves to 3-Man Referee System

Third On-Floor Official to Start With 2018 Season

May 22, 2018

Burnaby, B.C. – The Western Lacrosse Association (WLA) today announced that the Board of Governors has approved the move to a three-man referee system for the 2018 season.

“With the tremendous speed of our players and the ever-improving pace and calibre of play in the WLA, we felt it was essential to make the move in order to ensure the best possible officiating for our teams, and a better game experience for our great fans,” said commissioner Paul Dal Monte.

With a 3-man system, referees will work as a team and have less floor area to cover, thereby ensuring greater visibility, focus, and coverage of the playing surface. All three on-floor officials will share responsibilities and have equal authority to call penalties and manage the game.

The 2018 Western Lacrosse Association regular season opens on May 23 when the Burnaby Lakers visit the Langley Thunder at the Langley Events Centre at 7:30 p.m. View the full 2018 schedule at


The Western Lacrosse Association (WLA) is an amateur league of men’s senior A box lacrosse sanctioned by the Canadian Lacrosse Association. The WLA consists of seven teams, based in cities throughout southwestern British Columbia, playing an 18-game schedule from late May to the end of July. Each year, the playoff teams battle for the right to compete against the Major Series Lacrosse champion (Ontario) for the Mann Cup every September. The championship is hosted alternately between Ontario (MSL) and British Columbia (WLA) every year.

For more information, contact:

Paul Dal Monte                                                                                 Ben Hieltjes
Commissioner                                                                                  Executive Director